Resolution: Being a Failure in 2014

Here’s to A Thousand Moments More of Failure!

The Green Study

canstockphoto15625619I am not, in any external or commercial sense, a successful person. I am not a beauty queen, a math whiz, a super athlete, a great singer or any other Breakfast Club stereotype. I do not overwhelm people with my cult of personality or charisma. I’m an average student, a laissez-faire gardener and an inconsistent parent. I am, by all accounts and appearances, average.

In spite of all this mediocrity, I have a super power.I lose well. I lose repeatedly. And then I get up to lose again. The power of being average, of being a little strange under the surface, of never having success handed to you, is that you can be outrageously happy doing whatever loser thing you are doing. I don’t know if it is the tantalizing seduction of a mere possibility of success or if it’s simply doing something, that in that very moment…

View original post 464 more words

One thought on “Resolution: Being a Failure in 2014

Leave a Reply

